Red Hat Tibetan Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism - Statue of the 9th Dalai Lama in LhasaTibetan Buddhism is also called Lamaism. It was introduced in the 7th century during the reign of Songtsen Gampo in Tibet. At that time, the Tibet was unified and had identified their own characters. To reinforce the regime, Songtsen Gampo attached great importance to the Buddhism and married princesses from Nepal and the Tang Dynasty (618-907), both of where the Buddhism prevailed. With these two princesses, a large amount of sutra and statues of Buddha were brought in to Tibet.

During the days of Trisong Detsen Tsampo, Songtsen Gampo's grandson and also son of another princess Jin Cheng, he invited Indian Buddhist master Padmasambhva to impart Esoteric Buddhism. Then the master chose seven talented Tibetans to tonsure and enter into this religion, thus they became the earliest monks of Tibet. Since then, there appeared a great many of monasteries and monks, and sutras were translated into Tibetan.

Afterwards, although Tibetan Buddhism underwent oppression, it continued to thrive from the 10th century and took into ten sects. Today those ten sects have changed and combined to five main ones:

Nyingmapa (Red Hat Sect

Nyingmapa in Tibetan means 'old sect', which suggests it is a branch of the Tibetan Buddhism with the longest history. As the disciples wore red hats and clothes, this sect was also called Red Hat Sect. Integrated with the teachings of Tantras and Bon, the primitive religion of ancient Tibet, its core is Dzogchen - through cultivating themselves through meditation, the followers can disentangle from mortal and become Buddha.

Debating Lamas in Sera Monastery, Tibet Kagyupa (White Hat Sect)

Kagyupa followers wore white hats and clothes at first. It had widespread branches, but the mutual doctrine is the emphasis on dzogchen and theoretical study and belittling of fixed content in articles. They succeeded the principles by dictation of Esoteric Buddhism.

Gelugpa (Yellow Hat Sect)

This sect was formed in the early 15th century. It is the latest but the largest one among those Tibetan Buddhist sects. Initialized by Tsong Khapa, Gelugpa was highlighted by the combination of Esoteric and Exoteric Buddhism, as well as mitzvah. All of disciples of Gelugpa wear yellow cassock and hat, which gives their sect the other name 'Yellow Hat Sect'. There are also many splendid monasteries like Ganden Monastery, Drepung Monastery, and Sera Monastery.

Sakyapa (Stripe Sect)

Sakyapa in Tibetan means white land. Since the main monastery Sakya Monastery was built on white land of river valley; and the bounding walls were painted with red, white and black flower patterns which indicated Manjusri, Avalokitesvara and Vajrapani Bodhisattva. Therefore, the sect was named Sakyapa and 'Stripe Sect'. It claims that believers should get rid of common earthly ideas and meditate the principles to achieve wisdom.

You might also like
What if the Tibetan Monks were Violent?
What if the Tibetan Monks were Violent?
A Tibetan Red Sect Tantric Temple in E Ba Village, Guba, China
A Tibetan Red Sect Tantric Temple in E Ba Village, Guba, China
Lamayuru Monastery, Ladakh Red hat Sect Buddhism
Lamayuru Monastery, Ladakh Red hat Sect Buddhism
Tantric Buddhist Relics Tibetan Dalai Lama Baby Shirt Red & White Short Sleeve
Single Detail Page Misc (Tantric Buddhist Relics)
  • Tibetan Dalai Lama Baby Shirt
  • Baby Shirt Red & White Short Sleeve
  • Bella Baby Quality Clothing
  • To See Dalai Lama Image is a Blessing
  • 12 to 18 Months TantricBuddhistRelics Rating

China's Tibetan Tussle  — The New Indian Express
She said, “China follows a policy of freedom of religion and belief, and this naturally includes having to respect and protect the ways of passing on Tibetan Buddhism.

Why Tibetans protesting against Chinese President's visit: Explained  — Oneindia
The Chinese Army defeated the small Tibetan Army in 1949 and imposed a 'Seventeen-Point Agreement for the Peaceful Liberation of Tibet' on the Tibetan Government in May 1951.

Related Posts