Principles of Hinduism and Buddhism

Principles of Buddhism Dharma WheelReincarnation
is something known by everyone but it is also misunderstood. It might
not be what you expect it to be. Rebirth is a cycle we are all caught
in and its prison doors are called the five skandhas.

We will now explore the main points of Buddhism, the ones that are common to all the schools.

The teachings of the Buddha are known as the Dharma.

It consists of these principles:

  • impermanence
  • unsatisfaction or suffering
  • non-self

A fourth principle is often attached to the Three Marks of Existence. It is that Nirvana is attained when we are at

peace with the three principles mentioned above.

  • There is Suffering (or unsatisfaction)
  • There is a cause of Suffering (or unsatisfaction)
  • Suffering can stop
  • The Noble Eightfold Path leads to the cessation of suffering.

The Eightfold Path is often split in three divisions:


  1. Right View
  2. Right Intention

B-Ethical Conduct

  1. Right Speech
  2. Right Action
  3. Right Livelihood


  1. Right Effort
  2. Right Mindfulness
  3. Right Concentration
  • Ignorance
  • Attachment
  • Craving

5-The ten perfections (Pāramitā)

According to tradition, these 10 qualities are those of a bodhisattva (someone who is on the path of Buddhahood).

  1. generosity
  2. Virtue, Morality
  3. Renunciation
  4. Insight
  5. Effort, diligence
  6. Patience
  7. Honesty
  8. Determination
  9. Loving-kindness, Compassion
  10. Serenity

signature Hugo6-Meditation

In Buddhism, theory is not enough. To really aspire to an end of suffering, you need to practice meditation.

Meditation is not a simple exercise of sitting down and trying to think
about nothing. It would be more appropriate to call it Mindful-living
as it should be in our every actions. When we walk, eat, talk, sleep
and work, we should be aware at all time of what we are doing and all
the emotions passing through us. Doing so will help develop
insight, effort and serenity which are some of the 10 perfections.

In closing

you are interested in Buddhism but are afraid of all the theory
presented here, there are some key points that anyone can practice and
are a sure way to improve your life, and the one of others around you.

Like Christianity has it’s 10 commandments, so does Buddhism have it’s recommendations:

Do no-evil, cultivate good, purify your heart.

value compassion above all virtues as it encompass or is the source of
many other virtues. A compassionate person will not harm others, will
be generous to others, honest and it will lead to a sense of serenity.

So if you want to start living a better life, start by cultivating compassion in your heart and in your actions.

Start by being compassionate to yourself and when you see how good it
feels, spread it to the people around you. It will make you fell better
but most importantly, it will make others feel good too.

Another good thing to do is meditation, as we just discussed.

and ceremonies will become useful later on as they give you tools to

You might also like
simple principles to peace and empowerment
simple principles to peace and empowerment
5 Basic Principles Of Vastu, Vastu Ke 5 Sidhant
5 Basic Principles Of Vastu, Vastu Ke 5 Sidhant ...
Explaining about Buddhism and basic principles of Buddhism
Explaining about Buddhism and basic principles of Buddhism ...

Memories of perfect harmony  — Free Malaysia Today
We respected one another's values and beliefs, so much so that I filled my chest with teachings of Buddhism, Hinduism, Christianity, Atheism and so on, in addition to the compulsory Islamic classes for all Muslim girls.

Related Posts